John Denver - Rocky Mountain Christmas

John Denver
Folk, World, & Country
Rocky Mountain Christmas
Label: RCA ‎– APL1-1201, RCA Victor ‎– APL1-1201
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold, Hollywood Pressing
Country: US
Date of released: 1975
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Aspenglow
Written-By – Denver*
A2 The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)
Drums – Herb Lovelle*Written By – Torme-WellsWritten-By – Torme*, Wells*
A3 Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
Written-By – Marks*
A4 Silver Bells
Flute – Harvey EstrinOboe, English Horn – George MargeWritten-By – Livingston-Evans*
A5 Please, Daddy (Don't Get Drunk This Christmas)
Written-By – Bill & Taffy Danoff
A6 Christmas For Cowboys
Written-By – Weisberg*
B1 Away In A Manger 2:05
B2 What Child Is This
Guitar – Chuck Collazzi
B3 Coventry Carol 2:19
B4 Oh Holy Night 2:53
B5 Silent Night, Holy Night 3:28
B6 A Baby Just Like You
Written By – Denver-HenryWritten-By – Henry*, Denver*

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – RCA Studios, Hollywood
  • Recorded At – Soundstage, Toronto
  • Recorded At – RCA Studios, New York
  • Record Company – RCA Corporation
  • Copyright (c) – RCA Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – RCA Records
  • Pressed By – RCA Records Pressing Plant, Hollywood


  • A&R [A & R Coordination] – Lynn Morse*
  • Arranged By [Instrumental Arrangements] – Lee Holdridge (tracks: A4, B2 to B4)
  • Arranged By [Songs] – Dick Kniss, Hal Blaine, Herb Lovelle*, John Denver, John Sommers, Lee Holdridge, Steve Weisberg
  • Art Direction – Acy Lehman
  • Bass – Dick Kniss
  • Celesta [Celeste], Piano [Tack] – Lee Holdridge
  • Cello – Jesse Ehrlich
  • Design [Album] – Gribbitt*
  • Drums, Percussion – Hal Blaine
  • Engineer – Mickey Crofford
  • Engineer [Mastering] – Richard Simpson
  • Guitar – John Sommers, Steve Weisberg
  • Illustration – Peter Palombi
  • Management [Personal] – Jerry Weintraub, Management III, Ltd.
  • Mandolin – John Sommers
  • Piano, Harpsichord – Lee Holdridge, Pearl Kaufman (tracks: B2 to B4)
  • Producer – Milton Okun
  • Producer [Assistant] – Kris O'Connor
  • Viola – Samuel Boghossian
  • Violin – Sid Sharp*, William Kurasch
  • Vocals, Guitar [6-String], Twelve-String Guitar – John Denver
  • Written-By – Traditional (tracks: B1 to B5)


Tan Labels

Recorded at RCA, Hollywood; Soundstage, Toronto; RCA, New York August 1975.


©1975 RCA Records, New York, N.Y.
Printed in U.S.A.

Inside of the gatefold covers has the lyrics to A Baby Just Like You, by John Denver and Joe Henry. © 1975 Cherry Lane Music Co."

Stereo. TM(s) ® RCA Corp.—Made in U.S.A.
℗ 1975 RCA Records.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): APL1-1201-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): APL1-1201-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, Hand Etched (10S in superscript, H Stamped and opposite label)): APL1-1201 A10S H
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, Hand Etched (11S in superscript, H Stamped and opposite label)): APL1-1201-B 11S H
  • Pressing Plant ID (Stamped in runouts ): H
  • Other (Pressing Ring): 25mm (1")
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Other (Spine - Price Code): 0698

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
APL1-1201 John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas ‎(LP, Album, Gat) RCA Victor APL1-1201 Canada 1975
LM-7003 John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas ‎(LP, Album, Unofficial) Liming Record LM-7003 Taiwan Unknown
74321 695782 John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas ‎(CD, Album, RE) BMG 74321 695782 UK & Ireland 1999
APK1-1201 John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas ‎(Cass, Album, Club) RCA APK1-1201 US 1975
APL1-1201 John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas ‎(LP, Album, RE) RCA APL1-1201 Canada 1980